Life of Becka

Confessions of a Dreamer

When You Lose Everything


Yesterday I posted a request asking people to take a minute out of their day today to take a photo holding a sign that stated “I Stand Up Against Hunger.” What I did not explain was why this issue was so important to me.

When I was 19 I lost my apartment in Colorado and ended up living in a homeless shelter. The fear and sadness that I felt of not knowing how I was going to eat or even worse how I was going to feed my own child was terrible. We take for granted so much in this world, in particular the fact that most of us in this country never think twice about where our next meal will come from.

Whether it is a humble immigrant family sitting at the table eating nothing but rice and beans or a college student feasting on Ramen noodles….the idea of not having enough to eat rarely crosses our minds.

The sad truth is, however, that all across the greatest country in America, thousands upon thousands of men, women and children find themselves homeless, in deep poverty and often hungry day in and day out.

When I lost my apartment I went from having a fully furnished home, lots of toys for my child and lot’s of material possesions. In the span of a day I went from all of this to having every worldly good I had stolen after it had been placed on the street corner upon my eviction. When you lose everything but the clothes on your back and a handful of photos, you get a new perspective on life and what is and is not important.

Suddenly the latest shoes, new clothes and toys where secondary to finding a meal and a place to sleep.  I know that I am push and annoying at times about causes I believe strongly in but I’ve seen both sides and I know how easily everything we take for granted can be gone in a blink of an eye. It is because of this that I feel there is no time like today to figure out what is truly important. No one should have to wait till it’s gone before they figure that out. Thank you for allowing me to share.

2 comments on “When You Lose Everything

  1. Becky Blanton
    October 18, 2009

    Push away. I too was homeless for more than a year. It totally changes the way you look at things, at what is important and how much we take for granted.

    I lived in a Wal-Mart parking lot in a van with my rottweiler and cat and was stunned how cruel, stupid, selfish and self-centered people were once they know you’re homeless. Yet I worked FULL-TIME and sometimes two jobs the entire time I was homeless. I have never been an addict, didn’t drink, paid my own way, but I couldn’t afford an apartment that would take my animals. Rather than give them up, I lived in the van. I eventually got out, but am now back in the van to document it – to enlighten others and to try, as you are, to get people to see that “there but for the grace of God, go they…”

    Anyone can become homeless overnight…and as the economy sinks and Obama gives up U.S. sovereignty and more jobs are lost, more and more will be homeless. I’m glad you’re posting! Thank you!

    • lifeofbecka
      October 18, 2009

      Thank you for sharing as well. That is why I am writing this blog. I am hoping that it will be a good place for people like yourself to reach out and share their experiences. We are not alone, it is a wonderful feeling to reach out to others who understand.

      I appreciate your strength and courage for sharing. Thank you again.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 18, 2009 by in Activism, Hunger and Poverty, My Story and tagged , , , , .
