Life of Becka

Confessions of a Dreamer

Stranger Before Me


Standing naked in front of the mirror.
Do not recognize this stranger before me.
Curves where there was once bone.
Cheeks filled out no longer defined.
What happened to the smooth and sleek version of myself?
Where did the girl go who could count every rib?
Caress bones that jutted like rock from a canyon wall?

A glance at the bathroom floor shows the scale waiting for me.
Mocking me.
A glistening white bully ready to show me proof of my failure.

Standing naked in front of my mirror
A tear rolls down my cheek.
I mourn the girl I lost while
trying to embrace the woman I have become.

3 comments on “Stranger Before Me

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Stranger Before Me « Life of Becka -- Topsy.com

  2. rochelle09
    November 9, 2009

    I think this poem is amazing. This is my life at the moment. I wish you all the best

    • lifeofbecka
      November 12, 2009

      Thank you. It is wonderful to know that other people can relate to what I am going through as well. I appreciate it.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2009 by in Anorexia, My Story and tagged , , , , , .
