Life of Becka

Confessions of a Dreamer

Baby Steps


I have not written in a few days but I thought I would jot a brief post today on “baby steps”. Those little tiny movements that we make towards progress and improving ourselves from the inside out. For instance this week was the first week that I exercised every day half an hour and stuck to a plan….in other words a baby step.

It is these small commitments that we make in our lives that lead us down new paths and help forge the future in the way we truly want to see it. I’ll be the first to admit that I am probably one of the most undisciplined people I know. I get into a “phase” or “mode” and then inevitably get bored and move on to something else. Knowing this about myself I started a group of my FaceBook account that would force me to be accountable to my friends to continue my commitment to getting fit. Seems like a small thing but for someone like me, knowing that there are other people out there who are monitoring my progress, who are reading my progress updates, gives me that extra motivation to want to continue with getting healthy.

I have thought a lot as of late about ‘baby steps’ and which one’s I can take to keep my life on the right track. I  know for certain that one particular step I need to take is to get the motivation to stop smoking. There is nothing worse than getting in a good workout and stopping to catch your breath in between. I know in my heart I am not 100% ready to quit but again those small steps lead to others and my hope is that once I begin to see the fruits of my labors that the next logical step will be to stop this nasty habit of mine.

Another baby step I have taken lately is renewing my commitment to maintaining my house. Sounds like a “no duh” issue for most but for me it has always been a challenge. I am a notorious pack rat and I often find it very difficult to stay focused long enough to finish one project before I move on to the next. With work having dried out to almost nothing the last few months I have started to realize that I can keep up my couch potato ways or stay busy by focusing on one small project a day that at the very least keeps my mind and body busy. So each day I try to give myself a mental list of things that need to be done and try my best to check one task off before starting another.

I truly encourage you to think of your own baby steps. Perhaps you have recently ended a relationship, or started a new job, or have a desire to get fit. Whatever your goal or change in your life is, start each day with one small step. Before long you will find that instead of walking towards your goal, you will be sprinting, and the result at the end of that finish line will be so worth the effort!

7 comments on “Baby Steps

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Baby Steps « Life of Becka -- Topsy.com

  2. jacintah
    December 5, 2009

    underachieving is so much better than not achieving at all. that’s how I look at baby steps

  3. beyondtheendoftheroad
    December 7, 2009

    Baby Steps to me are simply “Staying in the Moment”. Taking care of the matter at hand and letting go of the rest.
    Excellent post.

  4. Alex (iwalkdevon)
    December 11, 2009

    Your blog title means a lot to me, just showed my husband and he chuckled at the synchroncity (in the title and my/our joint commitment to ‘maintaining’ our place. It’s about self-respect/love/care as much as staying focussed and getting organised). More to be explained in the email I will be sending you very soon. Sorry for the delay…..so much work, but that’s good…devil makes work and all that 😉

    Love and light

    xxx

    • lifeofbecka
      December 14, 2009

      Thank you for your response. During my recovery from prescription drug addiction I am realizing more and more just how important baby steps really are. I truly appreciate you reading my blog.

  5. appeasePrielt
    December 13, 2009

    Excuse me for writing offtopic – which Word Press template are you using? It’s looking amazing!

    • lifeofbecka
      December 14, 2009

      It’s no problem. It is the Digg 3 column layout from the wordpress theme selections. Hope that helps and thanks for the compliment. I appreciate it.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2009 by in Baby Steps, Thoughts and Ponderings, True Life and tagged , , , , , .
