Life of Becka

Confessions of a Dreamer

A New Chapter


Do you remember when we where kids and the choose your own adventure books where all the rage? I do not think I understood the parrallel of these books in relation to life itself until a very short time ago. I remember reading them with passion, trying hard to make the right choice to see where my character would go to next. As an adult I have realized how we do this on a daily basis without ever really knowing that we are.

As we enter 2010 I encourage each of you to embrace your life and turn it into your own Adventure book. Every choice we make in our lifetime leads us to a new path. Following your passion, reconnecting with an old friend, making a new one, all these avenues open opportunities for new discoveries and accomplishments.

This past year for me in particular has been bittersweet. The death of my brother due to an accidental overdose opened wounds and doors that I did not realize existed. Getting clean from my own prescription drug addiction and realizing how much I had lost out on during my 6 years of living in my head was earth shattering. Major events with outcomes unexpected that took me on a roller coaster ride of emotions. Some days it seems as if I am still on that ride, falling and rising waiting for it to end. On those days though I remind myself that the ride truly never ends. We are all riding our own personal roller coasters, going through good times and bad times.  In the end, however, it is up to us to cower in fear till the next drop or we can choose to throw our hands in the air and go with where the ride takes us next.

Happy New Year to each and every one of you my friends. Choose wisely and remember your next adventure is just around the bend, enjoy where it takes you.

One comment on “A New Chapter

  1. beyondtheendoftheroad
    December 31, 2009

    Happy New Year to you and your’s.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2009 by in New Years, Thoughts and Ponderings and tagged , , , , , .
